It is very common and normal to accumulate a number of duplicate profiles in your database over a period of time.
Duplicates appear for a number of reasons - from user error, to diners using multiple reservation platforms.
Getting rid of duplicate profiles is essential in maintaining a useful and up-to-date database.
For unknown duplicates, please refer to our Find Customer Dupes article.
The Merge Mode function can be found in the Customers tab.
1. Select the profiles you wish to merge, and click Merge.
(you may select multiple profiles, but only 2 will be merged at a time.)
2. Identify conflicting fields, and select the data you wish to retain.
Fields highlighted in red represent conflicting data. Only 1 of the 2 options can be retained. You may click on the data you wish to retain.
3. Once you ready to combine the 2 profiles, click Merge.
If you are only merging 2 profiles, upon merging, you will be brought back to the Customers tab screen.
If you are merging more than 2 sets of profiles, the screen will prompt you to merge the next set of profiles. Repeat step 2 until no duplicate profiles are left.
Skip Button - When merging multiple profiles, the Skip button allows the skipping of the current pair of profiles. Clicking Skip will show the next pair of profiles to be merged.
Swap Button - The Swap button allows the profile to be switched between Base and Other Customer.
Customer Audit Trail - Only the audit trail belonging to the Base Customer will be saved. Audit trail of Other Customer will be deleted in the merged profile. We recommend saving the audit trail of the customer profile with the higher number of visits.
Phone Numbers & Email Addresses - When merging profiles, all phone numbers and email addresses from both profiles will be merged. This is set as it is recognized that one person can have more than one phone line and email address.
Visit Counter - The total visit count will be combined after the merge.